one of the best way to solve worlds environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel prices. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the problems associated with the negative impact of imprudent human activities that become a great concern for many. Few sections of society think that government should raise the price of fuel to alleviate the environmental problems. My perspective is that, increasing fuel price will help to some extent, there are other vital solutions which are equally useful. The essay will decipher various reasons for my standpoint. It seems that, cars, motorbike, road traffic is the main source of greenhouse gases, urban air pollution and responsible for global warming. It is evident that, if government slightly hike the cost of gasoline and petrol, it could impact on people’s income and saving. As a result, vehicle owners will decrease the uses of their personal transport which helps to reduce pollution. To illustrate, to solve the environmental problems, Singapore has added a huge amount of taxes on gas prices. This has deterred locals from using their own vehicle. Therefore, expansion in fuel value will benefit at a certain limit to decline the environment problems. However, there are also other way to deal with this issue. One major option is to provide a robust public transport system and provide subsidy for residents who use it. If occupants have the alternative to commute via buses and trains which are cheaper and comfortable, they will start using them on a regular basis. For example, London has a huge network of trains and buses, which are quite affordable. Hence locals prefer ton use them instead of their private vehicles. Consequently, it will result in fewer cars on the road, which eventually means less defilement. To conclude, environmental issues can be controlled by raising the prices of gas; however, another measure like providing efficient public transport and subsidy for residents could be equally beneficial in combating this issue.