Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Governments are always looking for new methods to reduce crime. While some people think that longer prison punishments are the best method, others argue that there are alternative methods that can reduce the crime. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence why longer prison sentences are ultimately the best way to reduce crime. There are numerous reasons why longer prison punishments can reduce crime. Firstly, longer and strict prison punishment send a strong message to the community that crime will not be tolerated. Consequently, many crimes do not happen due to the fear of extended and strict prison punishment. Furthermore, if anyone gets convicted of any crime, he will be sent to the community so that he cannot commit any crime again. On the other hand, not every criminal has to spend time behind the bar. Petty criminals should be counseled or made to do social service instead of being put in prison. This will allow them to reform themselves and give back to the society. However, criminals who commit heinous crimes like premeditated murder or rape deserve longer prison terms because they are a threat to the society. Also, it is foolish to assume that they can be reformed by making them do community service. To sum up, this essay discussed whether longer prison punishments are better than) alternative methods such as counselling. In my opinion, more extended prison punishment is ultimately the best way to reduce crime because it helps to deter potential offenders as well as prevent convicted criminals from recommitting any crime.