Some people believe that exams are an unappropriate way of measuring students performance and should be replaced by continuous assessments. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that exams are an unappropriate way of measuring students performance and should be replaced by continuous assessments. Do you agree or disagree? Some people believe that exams are not suitable to measure the performance of students, and should be replaced by continuous assessments. I personally agree with this viewpoint because exams create pressure on students, and assessments provide the opportunity for self-learning. Exams are not suitable to evaluate student performance because they create pressure on students. Students sometimes become tense about their exams, and cannot be prepared well. Moreover, because of huge exam pressure, some students get ill, and cannot concentrate well. As a result, their performance also gets affected. For example, approximately 70% of university students in Australia have expressed their dissatisfaction regarding monthly exams because of increasing peer pressure. Therefore, they voted for assessment deadline every fortnight as the evaluator of their performance. Furthermore, assessments are a good way to measure the performance of students because they encourage self-learning. Assessments are similar to open-book exams, which do not put the students under pressure. Student can research, study and write their own assessments according to the criteria and can submit them on the due date. They do not have to memorize anything, and they can engage in self-learning. For example, in Canada, most university students prefer assessment because they can learn on their own without the interference of others. They enjoy this independent learning and earn knowledge on their own. In conclusion, I personally agree that assessments are more effective than exams because students can learn independently. Exams create pressure on the students and sometimes affect their health.