For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

The 20th century has witnessed phenomena like the IT or industrial revolution, whereas the education system is still evolving and trying to catch with the upcoming technological trends. The teaching methods and subjects have still not changed much, over the last few years. Some of the critics assert that we should continue with the traditional education system, while I completely agree to revamp the present academic system and add a new subject, to, sharpen the skill set of the new graduates. The essay will outline the benefits of adding, a new class of subjects and will end with a conclusion. Firstly, since, the curriculum adopted in the educational institutes has still not changed much in the last few years, so the fresh graduates find it difficult to get a job in the market. In other words, employers do not want to spend their time and money on imparting trainings to the freshers, as they are looking for candidates who already possess some skill sets to start the work from the very first day of their office. The University of New York, For instance, published a placement report for the year 2019, and it was clear that students with good expertise in computer languages were offered jobs by the visiting companies. Moreover, medical science is also using computer-driven machines to do complex operations, thereby making it a compulsive for the doctors to have a stronghold on the computers. Secondly, because, nowadays, any sector be it IT, factories or government departments, every process is controlled by computers, so it is mandatory to have some knowledge of computers. For example, recently the Mines authority of South Africa purchased 2000 robots from Robot India Limited for mining purpose, which means even the mining operations are to be done by computer operated robots. Furthermore, the new opportunities are coming in the fields, namely, artificial intelligence, python and cloud computing, so, to get jobs one has to grasp the computer skills. To conclude, the industry today is seeking new talent, which has a good command over electronics gadgets. The traditional education structure can only support you to learn the basic concepts, but will not fetch you a handsome job and salary.