Some people believe that students should take a gap year after finishing school and work or travel during this period. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, an increasing number of students tend to spend a sabbatical year after high school travelling or working rather than attending higher education. Personally, I strongly believe that they should take a gap year as it is beneficial for their employment prospects. First of all, students can spend a gap year working to raise awareness of themselves. By trying different jobs, they will understand more about their interest and ability, thereby standing a good chance of finding their career passion. Furthermore, thanks to the comprehension of their strengths and weaknesses, pupils can develop themselves to fulfil the job descriptions. For instance, those whose jobs involve interpersonal skills, but lack of them can join social activities and voluntary work to cultivate these essential skills. Consequently, the profound understanding of themselves plays an integral role in better employment opportunities. Secondly, taking a year off for travelling will undeniably enable students to broaden their horizons. Visiting different countries offers them an insight into not only cultures but languages as well. This knowledge will provide them with an advantage in the internationally oriented economy. Additionally, only by travelling can teenagers acquire practical experiences, which are unable to be gained through academic books. It is these experiences that help them get wider perspectives. These are regarded as a crucial part in problem-solving skills, which are highly necessary for job seekers. In conclusion, working and travelling for a period before attending higher education are advantageous to students since they can fully understand themselves and obtain factual knowledge as well as essential skills. My view is that the youth should be encouraged to take a gap year to enhance their employability.