Some people think everyone should be a vegetarian, because we do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea of vegetarian diet versus meat-based diet is a quite controversial topic that undergoes much discussion in the human health sector. There is no denying animal fat and protein brings forth negative effect, and the most obvious and detrimental impact is cancer and the diabetes. I can’t find any option than to argue that a vegetarian diet is much more beneficial for us. To begin with, vegetarians are likely to have lower total cholesterol, lower blood pressure and less body mass, all which may contribute to a reduced risk for many chronic diseases. Nutritionists agree that plant-based eating as not only nutritionally sufficient, but can be healthier than meat-eating diets. As a matter of fact, vegetarians usually eat less saturated fat and more fibre, vitamins, magnesium, potassium and phytochemical compared to eaters. Additionally, World Health Organisation confirms that vegetarian diets are nutritionally adequate for all stages of life, including pregnant women, infants through older adults and athletes. An article from National Geographic is a compelling example of this. Okinawa is one of the “blue zone” regions and has some of the highest life expectancy rates in the world. The traditional Okinawa diet is whole plant foods and less than one percent of fish, dairy and eggs, mostly based on vegetables and beans. Studies show that, they are 10 times less diseases than the United States. Based on the examples and evidence I have presented, I am strongly inclined to conclude that we should omit meat from our diet in order to live healthier. Not only we can avoid some catastrophic phenomena which cause many deaths, but we also compassion for animals and reduce impact on the environment.