Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

Most of the people suggest that the efficient way to punish criminal in various types of crimes should be fixed. In this aspect, there is an advantage of reducing the crime index. However, sometimes without considering the aspect of an offence may lead to unfairness among wrongdoers. To commence with, the primary benefit of strict punishments is helping in lowering the rate of crime. In other words, serious punishments, like the death penalty, lifetime imprisonment for crimes such as murder, rape, drug trafficking, are suitable punish the rule- breakers. For example, according to the publication of criminal justice journal, Saudi Arab country has been ranked top because of low crime rate due to its aggressive laws. Consequently, such dreadful rules deter the culprit to commit crimes. However, punishments are made to protect innocents. Unfortunately, Sometimes this may create unfairness among those who did wrong to save themselves. Some individuals commit minor crimes like robbery for feeding their family, kill someone in case of self defence. Due to these factors serious punishment sometimes may generate the feeling of injustice in the minds of wrongdoers, which might result into serious unethical issues, for example, The New Hindustan Times survey declared that more than 45% children from economically disadvantaged family commit crime deliberately to provide food to their parents unemployed and physically challenged parents.The implementation of strict rules can force culprit to create unwanted non-violence against the government. In conclusion, punishments for serious and major crimes are the best way to protect our society from defaulters. This is more beneficial in case of lowering the offence rate. However, the reasons behind crime should also be considered to prevent the unfairness among deliberate offenders.