Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Although I largely agree that music can be a powerful unifier and enabler of understanding between people from different backgrounds, it is also a double-edged sword, as it can actually divide entire groups. Certainly, music has the power to transcend cultural, racial and generational barriers. A good example is jazz, which emerged in a specific cultural environment amongst the African-American community in the southern United States, but nevertheless quickly expanded beyond its historical and ethnic base. It has inspired many styles and is itself performed and listened to around the world today, building on improvisation, freedom of expression and the celebration of diversity, which are universal values. However, what is important to recognise is that neither music ’s capacity to bring people together universally applies nor do all genres emphasise euphoria and lightheartedness. Some lyrics carry strong political and social undertones, which, while uniting listeners who share these views, can significantly polarise others. For example, the American band Green Day actively addressed civil rights issues, media work, and anti-war sentiments in their lyrics. If there is one thing that artists and other influential people can do deliberately, it is to use their media presence to spread messages that promote certain beliefs. Thus, this further illustrates how music can actually be a powerful tool, finding a response not only amongst fans and like-minded individuals, uniting them around common ideas, but also pushing away others with opposite, but equally strong views. In conclusion, despite the fact that I firmly believe in the power of music to advance culture and be a source of community, we should remember its multifaceted connection between politics, ideology, world issues and identity and perhaps the avant-garde nature of the artists and their ability to also provoke confrontation.