Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, many countries strive for economic development to raise their living standard. As a consequence, some important social values are left behind. In my opinion, the advantages of economic advancements come before the drawbacks. It is clear that development of the economy significantly improves the standard of life. Economic growth creates more jobs and reduces the proportion of unemployed, so employee’s life can get better. For example, when the garment companies are established, they hire thousands of workers. The women that have not never had a stable job before now earn a regular salary of about 5-7 million VND per month. Besides that, the social services of health care and education are enhanced by abundant tax revenues of the Government. For example, there are improvements in Vietnam now such as free treatment for children under six years of age and free a part of the drug cost for cancer patients. It is seen that when the economy grows, rapidly infrastructure and transportation development are too. So people's travel will be convenient and fast. For instance, air travel is becoming more and more popular in Vietnam due to the expansion of airports, affordable fares, and satisfactory services. Admittedly, there are a few downsides to placing too much importance on economic growth. People tend to spend less time with their family and children. As a result, children that parent's education is left behind are often psychological instability because of the impact of the external environment. For example, it is found that the percentage of minors who violate the law is increasing. Otherwise, economic development also causes negative impacts on the living environment such as air pollution, epidemics. In conclusion, the country needs to work towards economic growth to bring advantages for its nationals. However, core social values are an important element of a sustainable economy.