People should follow the customs and traditions when they start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been an increase in people living in a new country. Oftentimes, these people have to adapt and try to learn the various customs and traditions of the new place they are living. I believe that following the customs and traditions of the area one is currently living in will be beneficial for them. Leaving the place that one grew up in can be difficult. However, this can be an opportunity to learn and appreciate new cultures. For example, people living in Asia have a tight-knit family culture, where several generations of family are living under one roof. This kind of lifestyle can be seen in Western culture as a negative trait. With this, foreign people who moved to Asian countries, have stated that the family culture is a positive tradition people should follow. This has resulted in to increase in positive family dynamics that these immigrants followed. Another thing, adapting to the culture and traditions of the new place can result in making more connections with others and widening one's perspective. As one tries to learn the different traditions, they are often more open to trying new things such as learning what are the do's and don'ts of making friends in that area which can result in making more friends. Widening one's perspective can be done in many ways. It can be through attending festivals and holiday events. For example, people who moved to the Philippines have mentioned that Christmas is very different to the Christmas they are used to, as this event is more focused on celebrating Christ's birth as well as family gatherings whereas, Christmas in Western countries is just another holiday. This has made others realise that there is more to Christmas than just a simple occasion of giving and receiving gifts. In conclusion, people who immigrate to another country should try to learn and follow the different customs and traditions of the place they immigrated to. Doing so, this can positively impact them by giving them the opportunity to learn about new cultures, establish more connections and widen different perspectives.