Some countries achieve international sports by building specialized facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that several countries have a tendency of funding sport infrastructure for professional athletes to acquire the global achievements these days, instead of providing basic equipment and land for the public purpose. Although this can bring about some benefits, I strongly argue that its negative aspects are noticeable. On the one hand, it is understandable why the government should give a priority of infrastructure to the elite athletes to obtain good results for the country. Indeed, winning high prizes in international sports events, like Olympic, is considered not only an effective way to improve country image, but it will also increase the patriotism among young generations and motivate them to exercise more. By improving the national branding, countries believe to have some economic advantages in this competitive world. Therefore, investing an enormous amount of money in building training centres to provide athletes the best condition to practice can boost the national trading and economy, as well as create a respectful job which is worthy to pursue. On the other hand, such this unequal investment has potential risk of loss. Firstly, providing more public facilities for dwellers is a good way to reduce the burden on health care. Specifically, when citizens are encouraged to take exercise, they can tackle the risk of different common diseases such as obesity, stroke and heart attack, which can help governments save a large amount of money on medical public services. Besides, it is apparent that the tax is contributed by the community. Thus, this funding should be spent to improve people’s life. Consequently, if all the national resources are strongly emphasis on athletes while numerous of the health problem of citizens are ignored, this would lead to the strong opposition from the public, even affecting the security of the nation. In conclusion, while spending state budget to enhance special facilities to achieve global sport metals is necessary, it is also vital for the government to build public infrastructure for residents for social long – term benefits.