The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the problems in which a growing population of overweight people is caused by the health care system, some people think that the key to solving these issues is to have more athletics and exercise in schools. In my opinion, I completely agree that this is the best way to tackle the issue of deteriorating public well-being about weight. Firstly, dealing with the issues surrounding obesity and weight problems is best solved by taking a long term approach and introducing the more fun and exercise in schools. This method will ensure that the next generation will be healthier and will not have such fitness problems. At the moment, the average child in the West does athletics possibly twice a week, which is not enough to counteract their otherwise sedentary lifestyle. However, by incorporating more sports classes into the curriculum as well as encouraging extracurricular sports activities, they will undoubtedly become fitter and more active. Another point to consider is that having more sports lessons for children in schools will probably result in children developing an interest in exercise which might filter through to other members of their family and have a longer-lasting effect. In other words, parents with sporty children are more likely to get involved in the sport as a way of encouraging their children. By both parents and children being involved, it will ensure that children grow up to incorporate games into their daily lives. This is certainly a natural and lasting way to improve public health. In conclusion, to deal with an increasing population of unfit, overweight people, changing the lifestyle of the coming generation by introducing pastime in schools is the easiest and most effective method to use.