More and more children are accessing the Internet unsupervised. This can sometimes put them at risk. What problems do you think parents face when dealing with their children using the Internet? How can this problem be solved?

With the proliferation of technology, the 21st century is marked with the internet revolution where it has become easier for everyone, including the young generation, to access the web without any hassle. Unsupervised access can lead to disastrous consequences for a child as well as the guardians which are worrisome for the parents all over the world. Nowadays, the internet is the utmost requirement in each and every household. In a recent survey in India, it was mentioned that youngsters spend an average of 9 hours looking at their phone screens. In this way, they are prone to gravitate themselves to diseases related to the eyes and their nervous system. Secondly, the young minds are the soft targets of the predators, as they can easily share personal information. And thus, can be located, kidnapped, and in worse cases, killed. For example, an online game 'Blue Whale' influenced and brainwashed many kids and forced them to end their lives. Thus, it is well known, that the cyber world is not a safe place for kids. These problems, however, are highly preventable. Children should only be allowed to access smart devices for educational and recreational activities under the guidance of their custodians. In addition to this, parental controls should be activated to monitor what they browse. Many websites, YouTube and Netflix, to cite examples, filter out graphic media when the app is logged in by a kid's account. These steps, if followed vigilantly, can go a long way in preventing such cases. To conclude, the internet is a double-edged sword and comes up with a plethora of potential risks to both parents and their offsprings, But, controlled and supervised use of the technology can prove this as a blessing in disguise.