Some people think that the amount of noise people make have to be controlled strictly, others say that people are free to make as much as they wish. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is a controversial issue these days that whether government should introduce strict measures to restrict the effect of a large amount of fuss or not. While people have a right of producing noise as they want, I strongly argue that this could be limited for some reasons. On the one hand, it is understandable why people should be allowed to make as much noise as they want. Firstly, producing noise is sometimes considered a type of recreational activities. Singing or cheering for favourite football club are some evident examples, which could be an effective way to vent negative emotions and release citizens’ tremendous stress. Besides, thanks to the advancement of science and technology, people have found various ways to deal with unpleasant sound. Specifically, scientists have invented walls and windows that can block out the noise, which allows individuals to focus on their work without being disturbed. Therefore, it seems that there is no need for people to keep quiet. On the other hand, studies shown that a large amount of loud sounds can cause noise pollution, which are either harmful or annoying to humans and animals. First and foremost, too much noise can lead to detrimental effects on physical and mental health. Therefore, residents living in noisy areas seem to be prone to such health problems, including sleep deprivation, hearing impairment and neurasthenic. Additionally, noise can disturb people’s work or study. In other words, when people try to handle their tasks and the noise will interrupt their thoughts, then gives rise to inefficient work hours, leading to significant decrease in their productivity. In conclusion, despite the fact that creating noise can alleviate stress, I still convince that noise should be controlled in residential areas, because of its adverse influences on health and productivity.