Some peopel believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, umproving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger childern. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Community services are now becoming common in most countries around the world. While some people think that these unpaid services should be mandatory among high school pupils, others are of the opinion that these are physically demanding to students at this age. I completely agree with the fact that philanthropic activities should be included as part of the curriculum as they develop a sense of compassion towards others at an early age. It is highly important that education should teach young boys and girls not only about academic studies but also human values such as helping the poor and elderly, sharing knowledge with those who are deprived of it and so on. Furthermore, these traits should be nurtured during their childhood days because as they grow up they might lose interest in paying attention to these essential qualities. For instance, it is compulsory for high school children in the USA to take part in social work and one of the surveys shows that these pupils are compassionate towards others. Therefore, school curriculums must be enhanced to include unpaid community services so that children develop humane values which are vital to society. On the contrary, it is undeniable that these acts require some physical health which may not be the same for all students. In addition, some children may not have enough strength to spend the whole day working in a neighbourhood since they are not physically fit. For example, a group of students in Australia suffered from dehydration while they went to public work outside. Thus, considering these health aspects, the inclusion of community services as a subject in high schools is a debatable topic. To sum up, even though community services help children to develop good character traits, these require physical abilities which may not be similar for all children. However, from my point of view, unpaid community services should be made compulsory in high school programmes in order to build qualitative personalities and thereby a better society.