Some people think that the government should increase tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy. Do you agree or disagree?

With the burgeoning number of people getting corpulent and having gastrointestinal illnesses due to junk foods and fizzy drinks, I argue that the legislators should impose heavy levies on those harmful products to exhort the public to embark on dietary habits while the others opine that it is their legal rights to make decisions on their lives, especially their food consumptions. On the one hand, levying such taxes would provoke grievances among the whole society. They work hard to augment their remuneration so as to fulfil their desires regarding food and drinks, so being charged with high costs is undoubtedly considered as inequality. Moreover, processed foods such as hamburgers, pizzas,.. To name but a few are often sold at affordable prices, which are suitable for the middle-class workers and students as these people do not have the financial capacity to go to the restaurant as well as time to prepare their meals, so they have to end up purchasing these harmful yet low-price products. Moreover, increasing taxes on these snacks seems to make no differences to the eating habit of the affluent class owing to the fact that such extra fees would be deemed small to these well-off while it is the poorer segment of the society who will suffer from the increasing high food expenses. On the other hand, I think that if raising taxes on unhealthy snack succeed to persuade citizens into healthy eating habits, it would enhance and improve inhabitants’ social lives. This is because the increasing number of people starting eating healthy would avoid ailments include obesity-related illnesses, leading to a reduction in spendings on healthcare services. Rather than centring on financing the treatment of those sick, more budget could be used to address the more controversial issues such as poverty or environmental problems. In addition, from an individual’s perspective, in this daily hectic life citizens tend to encounter with high level of stress and depression, having nutrient-rich meals on daily basis enables them to have the ability to mentally and physically active; therefore, they will end up leading healthy lifestyles. To conclude, it is left on each individuals' mindsets to decide on what they consume regardless of the legislators’ stringent rules or regulations, I believe that country inhabitants should be self-aware and alter their own eating habits to continue productive working life and prolong their life expectancy.