Write about the following topic. Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Online courses are indeed becoming a common feature of university education. Although there are some drawbacks to Internet-based learning, I would argue that there are far more benefits. The main drawback of the trend towards online university courses is that there is less direct interaction. Students may not have the opportunity to engage face-to-face with their teachers, and will instead have to rely on written forms of communication. Similarly, students who study online do not come into direct contact with each other, and this could harm peer support, discussion and exchange of ideas. For example, whereas students in traditional courses can attend seminars and even discuss their subjects over coffee after lessons, online learners are restricted to chatting through website forum areas. These learners may also lack the motivation and the element of competition that face-to-face group work brings. Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that online university courses are a positive development for various reasons. Firstly, they allow learners to study flexibly, meaning that they can work whenever and wherever is convenient, and they can cover the material at their own pace. Secondly, the cost of a university education can be greatly reduced, while revenues for institutions may increase as more students can be taught. Finally, online learning offers open access to anybody willing to study, regardless of age, location, ability, and background. For example, my uncle, who is 65 years old, has recently enrolled in an online MBA course in a different country, which would have been impossible in the days before Internet-based education. In conclusion, while I recognize the possible disadvantages of online learning, I consider it to be a positive development overall.