When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views regarding the importance of a building’s function in comparison to its exterior appearance. In my opinion, I agree with the idea that a construction’s purpose should be more highly valued than the appearance for a number of reasons. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that a magnificent looking structure can bring a wide range of benefits that should be taken into consideration. Firstly, it can remarkably raise the value of a building, especially a commercial or shopping centre, as it looks more attractive, professional and high-class. The more customers are attracted to the building, the more profit it can potentially generate, which can benefit the building’s owners enormously. Secondly, a building with an aesthetic design can contribute a lot to the appearance of a city, and may make it become one of the most distinguishing places on the map. A lot of cities nowadays, which are well-known for their architectural beauty have become popular destinations for tourists. On the other hand, the purpose of a building, in my opinion, is the key consideration when designing it. There are a variety of different building types such as office buildings, commercial buildings, shopping centres, hospitals and schools. Each one of these has its own purpose and a particular interior design to serve those purposes. Therefore, only by focusing on the functionality of a design first, can we bring out the best use of a construction. In addition, people use a particular place because of what it offers inside, not merely because of what it looks like on the outside. For example, if a company intends to erect a new office building, they will tend to choose the design based on the inner working spaces to enhance the operation of the staff and the enterprise. In conclusion, while the exterior of a building is an important factor, I believe its function should receive greater attention.