Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages.

The goal of every country is to have a rich economy. However, achieving this target means social values can be disregarded. I believe that it will bring more drawbacks than its positive effects. One of the benefits when most countries show economic growth is that, there are possibilities that employment rates also increase. As a result of economic development,more job opportunities will be offered to people to help them achieve a standard of living. For instance, in China and India, the rapid growth of the economy helps millions against poverty. Thus, economic improvement can be one of the ways to aid people in improving their lives as well. However, there are also unpleasant results related to economic development. One of these is the importance of social values like interpersonal relationships that are being neglected. Moreover, people are more focused on earning money that they intentionally do not communicate and socialize with others. For example, instead of spending time with family during holidays, others opt to work instead because they prefer to gain funds to purchase unnecessary materials. Additionally, economic improvement is also in line with increased consumerism. When people save enough money, they choose to spend more, especially on insignificant things. So, instead of keeping their salary for funding purposes, they will purchase things they do not really need. For example, beauty products, clothing and other advertised services which are really unimportant. In conclusion, although economic growth provides occupational chances, I stand with the view that this greatly provides negative results to humans, such as affecting their abilities to socialize and becoming impulsive with uncontrolled spending.