Medical technology is responsible for an increase in human's life expectancy. Is it a boon or a curse for the mankind?

The importance of increasing life expectancy due to the development in the medical world which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is a boon while others believe that it is a curse. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked controversy over its potential impact in recent years. In my opinion, the latter proposition appears to be more rational. This essay will elaborate on my viewpoints for favouring the negative impact of this trend and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. Analyzing the statement and explaining further, the first and foremost reason behind this is that aged people are more prone to diseases, so there is an increased financial burden on families. Another striking reason in this regard is that government expenditure on pensions increases. These financial resources can be used for other better purposes. Categorically, it cannot be ignored that it also increases the medical bills of the government. Probing ahead, one of the main underlying reasons stems from the fact that with increased life expectancy, unemployment among the young generation will multiply drastically. Moving further, it is pertinent to mention that it also hampers growth and productivity. Moreover, older people work with outdated technology. Apart from the reasons mentioned above, it can be clearly stated why many are against this trend. To recapitulate, according to the arguments aforementioned above, one can conclude that the drawbacks of acceleration in life expectancy due to sufficiently advanced medical technologies are indeed too dire to ignore.