Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

There is a growing trend among people where they prefer to endeavour for themselves rather than working for someone else. Today, a dramatic rise is seen in entrepreneurship and people have started recognizing the benefits of being your own boss. However, everyone is aware of the potential repercussions of being a freelancer, but still a huge craze is seen among people. Some protagonist believe that working from the comfort of home renders the opportunity to spend time with family. With your personal space, one can be less stressed and can focus on things someone wants to do in his life. For instance, as per the report of Mental Health and Disorder Department of India, people who have a business of their own were found be more satisfied in their heart as compared to people who worked for some organization. Therefore, humans are considering to move towards a less stressful activity which can be achieved with self employment. Moreover, ambitious people are not content with regular jobs rather they want to live an exciting life. The idea of owning a company is a great motivator for people to quit their work, they get fascinated by the amount of money one can make. Also, new generation are not afraid of taking risks: in the 2017 survey, more than 23% of university graduates preferred to start a business rather than working for a big company. They considered that the growth of an entrepreneur is more than an employee. So, a surge is seen in the count of people who are self-employed. However, some people opine that there is lack of job security of people without a work and also there is uncertainty in a self owned business. The work given by an organization assures that regular pay will be provided and people can feed their family. There is always a risk associated with entrepreneurship, which is a realistic threat. Thus, there is always a doubt in people's mind about being the boss of your own. To conclude, there are differences in people's opinion on self employment, some consider it as beneficial while others prefer working for someone else. People who perform for themselves are more satisfied and adventurous rather than people who prefer job security.