Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying jobs, To what extent do you agree with this statement?

With the ever-increasing competitiveness between those university graduates, some students have decided to choose a university major that can obtain jobs with higher pay. The essay will discuss why I partially agree that based on their future career opportunity and their dreams. First of all, I believe that a person’s interest should be the biggest factor when choosing a major. If a student chooses a major that is only based on financial reward rather than on fulfilment will lead to a life of misery as we spend most of our lives at work. People are only willing to dedicate their time and money for what they really like otherwise they are not going to enjoy it. For example, many medical students change their major to art during their university career even though they have almost finished it. Working in a gallery each day, surrounded by their drawings in their rooms, is what they really want. As a result, students should choose to major in an area where they can see themselves happy and fulfilled. If high salary comes along with that, then it’s a bonus. However, for those students that have no idea what major they should choose, studying a major that can have a higher salary is not a bad idea.Some degrees such as science or engineering are more likely to secure jobs and a clear career trajectory. Although they may not enjoy their university lives, it is probably worthwhile. For instance, in Hong Kong, engineers have an average wage of around $30000 and a promotion opportunity every three years. In comparison, more often than not, those university graduates with humanities or social science degrees have relatively low wages. Therefore, not taking a science or engineering major is obviously a bad idea in the sense that your future career will be a lack of choices. Having discussed that students after university graduation are more likely to have a clear career trajectory and are able to know more creative and knowledgeable colleagues. In my opinion, I agree that they should choose a university major to further their studies if they have a clear dream and ambition.