Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other services. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that instead of investing in the arts the government should allocate its pecuniary resources to more vital services. I cannot but agree with this statement as the first priority for the authorities must be to raise the country’s standard of living, that may be done by allocating money to such public services as health care and education. The main reason why the authorities should invest in healthcare is a growing demand in it. This is due to the reason that the population of many countries has been ever-increasing, and, therefore, nations face such problems as a critical shortage of health workers and lack of medical equipment. As a result, people are dying of treatable diseases. A prime example is the current situation with COVID-19, in which shortage of ventilators and personal protective equipment has resulted in a high death toll. Had more money been invested in this sphere, this hazardous problem would not have happened. Another service in need of financing is education as, even though, everyone has the right to become educated, many people cannot afford it due to the high tuition fees or it is just impossible with a shortage of teachers. As a consequence, in some countries there is still high illiteracy level, many unable to obtain a good qualification and, therefore, found themselves unemployed or with a salary that is not enough to meet their basic needs. If the government spent more money on scholarships, or made education free, it would open a whole world of opportunities for its citizens. In conclusion, it seems to me that the government should allocate more money for health care service and increase its investment in education so as to provide people with a high living standard and enable our society to ensure social prosperity. Even though it seems a lot of effort, it may be the best solution in the long run.