Write about the following topic: Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has always been claimed by some people that having a good memory and learning by heart is a key factor to become a successful student. Even if I have some sympathy with this idea, I believe that there are also other things that should be taken into consideration to succeed in education. To begin with, there are some reasons why people think that memorising is the key factor to succeed in training. First of all, memorising enables students to learn at a faster pace. That is to say, seeing that they learn by heart and do not forget a particular information, they will not have to revise what they have learned by wasting their time. On the other hand, while their peers revise studied materials, these individuals can learn something new and therefore achieve higher results in significantly shorter periods of time. For instance, my closest friend Dilshod adopts this method and therefore he is much more knowledgeable in comparison with his peers and shows better results in education. However, I still believe that there other things to consider in order to be a successful learner. Apart from perfecting everything, it is also crucial to understand the information. To be more specific, the students should also be able to comprehend and be able to imagine how something works or is used. To illustrate, a student learning English can know thousands of different words, but might not be capable of using them in his speech or writing which means that those words are useless for him. This means that the competence to grasp the information is also a key factor to succeed in education. To conclude, even if I agree that learning by heart is important, I still insist that understanding is also necessary.