Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people. Why does this happens? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

Visiting museums and historical places have been increasing by tourists to domestic people these days. Several reasons make residents avoid stopping by the museums and historical buildings; however, some solutions will contribute to manage this problem. Some reasons are partaking in the unwillingness of natives to go to such historic sites. First and foremost, they do believe that they are completely familiar with their history and culture and that is why they are not eager to visit the museums. This is may have been affected by the growth of technology and dying out tradition as well as boring these sites’ inner atmosphere; however, if a sightseer wants to explore more about the culture and past of the region where he travels, he could visit holiday museums and relics. Secondly, because of the entrance ticket fee, citizens would rather spend their money on indispensable daily expenditures. In another word, the more the natives face the economic problem, the less they can disburse for entertainment. To cope with this problem, a couple of solutions are useful. To begin with, the authorities can celebrate religious festivals and ceremonies as well as exhibitions and art competitions in these palaces to recall people. Not only do these activities encourage people to visit the museums and historical sites but also increase their awareness and belonging a sense of their history and culture. Promoting the regional people to visit these places by offering free ticket or customer club card by the government could be the second solution and it might give opportunities for who deprived of observing their national past. To conclude, by considering the causes mentioned, it can be inferred that museum’s visitors are tourists compared to indigenous; however, the government could hold pre-mentioned solutions and solve this issue.