Nowadays it is not only large companies that can make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Unlike many years ago when cinematography is exclusive to large companies, films made by individuals using their own devices have enjoyed increasing popularity in recent years. I am of the opinion that this is more likely to have positive consequences. Firstly, the fact that financing is increasingly more accessible has helped add variety to cinematography. Movies made by big companies, on the one hand, are restricted to a handful of themes and backgrounds, several of which are even heavily censored. On the other hand, films made by potential filmmakers, albeit amateur, transcend barriers of ethnicities and backgrounds. Around 400-500 movies are made by Hollywood every year, many of which are Americentric and revolve around superheroes, romance, thrillers and comedies. Meanwhile, with a phone sitting in our pockets and film editing applications at our disposal, that number can add up to millions, with more themes covered and a great array of settings shown. Additionally, easy access to filming technology helps discover hidden talented people. Thanks to video-sharing platforms such as YouTube or Facebook, several unknown people have attained resounding success just by one or two short films. In Vietnam, for example, a lot of amateur movie-making teams have become overnight sensations by posting short comedies and web dramas onto their sites. Although those films are low-budget, they are well-received by the general public, and many aspiring actors, actresses, and directors are discovered and eventually shot to fame. The Sundance Film Festival, once a low-profile venue for small-budget creators, has become a media extravaganza for new talents now that more and more independent movie creators are able to make films using their own devices. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that the widespread popularity of amateur films thanks to the advent of technology is a welcome trend, since it adds spice to the film industry and promotes aspiring individuals wishing to pursue professional film careers.