Some countries are struggling with an increase in crime rates. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Crime incidence has increasingly risen in many countries, threatening the lives of countless people. There is a belief that employing more police in surveillance is the only way to prevent individuals from committing crimes. Despite bringing about short-term benefits, I am apprehensive about this decision. The increasing presence of police undoubtedly contributes to reducing crime rates in the short run. This is because such people act as an embodiment of justice, and strict punishments directly deter those who tend to contravene the law and behave illegally. Furthermore, those who are law-breakers opt for places or areas where the reach of law enforcement is weak enough to commit a serious offense. Therefore. Reinforcing the supervision of police in crime-infested places, it can cause illegal behaviors to plummet as these executions soon be detected. Take Rio de Janeiro, for instance; thanks to initiatives of deploying more police implemented by the government, this policy culminates in peace for residents living in this city. However, this policy demonstrates no prolonged efficiency. As there are no solutions to tackle the root cause of the crimes, this social quo still proliferates when human resources of police stations cannot afford to supervise all areas 24/7. Thus, in lieu of allocating financial resources to police reinforcement, the government should invent these monetary subsidies to address factors such as poverty, lack of education, and mental health issues contributing to criminal behaviors. Additionally, this approach to curtail crime can be counter-intuitive as this raises a question about integrity. Numerous serious crimes that expose police corruption are recorded around the world. People who want to infringe on a law bribe the police to turn a blind eye, resulting in more criminal actions. In conclusion, while leading to positive change immediately, the lack of sustainable effectiveness is the crucial reason why increasing police patrolling is not necessary. Hence, educational and social investment is the holistic approach to address this situation.