In many countries, weddings are getting bigger and more expensive than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Having luxury ceremonies has been increased these days, especially over the last decade. In the past, an overwhelming majority of people used to celebrate their wedding celebration in their own house; however, nowadays people's mindset has changed towards getting a massive and more costly celebration. From my point of view, despite the fact that it has positive points, it is a negative trend. On one hand, some drawbacks can illustrate that it is a negative development. To begin with, not only will more food, drinks and flowers using for decoration be thrown away, but also more energy will be wasted. The more the celebration bigger is, the more the lights are brightened. As a consequence, wasting energy will increase. Apart from this, expending more money to have bigger and expensively dinner will cause the bride and groom to be in debt for years because they spend more than they save, as a result, they will face with some financial problems in the long run and they may not be able to manage their necessary expenditures. On the other hand, if someone holds their wedding on a larger scale, more job opportunities will create to hire more servants to welcome and serve drinks and food for guests. Similarly, people who have a pleasant network of friends and colleagues will be given the chance of inviting all of their fellows in their celebration. Nevertheless, because it wastes a huge of money and energy, it is a negative trend. In conclusion, although people tend to celebrate more expensive these days, in my opinion, this act has merits and demerits which should be considered.