Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although computers have changed the way we live, it is important to remember that many other inventions have changed our everyday life over the past century. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain why I tend to agree with the latter one. Nowadays, it is undeniable that computers are essential tools in our works and everyday lives. This is because they can do some of our work more efficiently than us and can stock millions of data that are easily accessible all over the world. To cite an example, computers are crucial in the medical sector, because thanks to them, doctors are aware of the whole background of a patient in a few seconds only. If computers were not available, doctors would have to check every background of a patient themselves and this would take hours that are better spent caring for patients. On the other hand, computers are very important but maybe not the most important invention. Over the last century, many others breakthrough have been experienced such as the transport revolution. The reason why transport is so important is that the creation of cars and planes have led to globalisation. If this invention had not happened, it would be impossible to travel so easily, and trade would be more complicated than it is nowadays. To conclude, despite the major contribution of computers in easing our professional lives, I believe that others crucial inventions have been made in the last century. Personally, I feel that transport revolution has simplified our lives as much as computers did.