The roads in major cities today are often difficult to travel on. What are the causes of this? What are some possible solutions?

As the vast majority of people are moving from rural areas to the urban, cities are getting overcrowded, which leads to the high volume of traffic on the roads and therefore the road conditions are getting worse. The reason behind this is all related to the overpopulation and the problem could be tackled with the collective efforts of the government and the multinational companies. The main reason behind the bad condition of roads in the cities is overpopulation. With the rise in employment opportunities in the urban cities, people are leaving their hometowns to get their dream jobs in multinational companies, which are located in the heart of beautiful cities, resulting in the city’s streets are getting overcrowded with the private vehicles. For instance, New York city was designed to hold 100,000 people in the beginning, but due to the globalisation, people from adjoining areas has moved to New York to seek a better quality of life, resulting in total population of 1.5 million in 2020, as per the latest report of the New York Times. There are various steps that could be taken to make the condition of urban cities better. Firstly, the government should encourage multinational companies to establish their branches in the rural areas, so that unemployed people do not move to the cities in search of the jobs. By doing this, there will also be a growth of the rural areas in terms of the standard of living, transportation and accommodation. Secondly, the government should reduce the taxes for the companies who offers the remote work option to its employees. In this way, more and more companies will support the idea of working from the home, which leads to less traffic on the roads, which means minimum wear and tear, followed by their best condition. To conclude, roads are getting damaged due to the high congestion in metropolitan cities. However, this can be tackled with the mutual contribution of the government and the multinational companies.