Some people say that the universities must only accept student with high mark. While others believe that universities must accept students of all ages regardless of their previous grades. Discuss both views.

There are those who believe that only students with excellent grades ought to be granted acceptance into tertiary institutes while others think they must offer an opportunity to pupils no matter what their age, equally without considering their marks. In this essay, I am going to examine the question from both points of view and then give my perspective on the matter. On one side of the argument, there are people who argue the benefits of accepting only students with high grade outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that universities have a duty to cultivate and produce, qualified and exemplary students, and to develop their talents for the better future of their nation and communities. It is also possible to say that pupils with satisfactory grades mean not only do they have a high intelligence but also a strong willingness to achieve. A good illustration of this is most students who have high marks are likely to respect professors very much and study exceptionally hard. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that the environment influences people’s behaviour and development. People often have this opinion because sometimes students with a great potential could not focus on study because they had to spend their time making a living and then try entering universities for academic success at a later age. A second point is that the conventional system is not perfect when it comes to evaluating talented students. A particularly good example here is that a student with a great scientific mind, who is not a native English speaker, might not be accepted because they could not pass an arduous exam like IELTS. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that universities should allow all students to enrol in their schools without considering their grades because not every student is fully supported by their families, and conventional platforms to assess students are imperfect.