Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Social networking platforms, for example Facebook, are believed by many to have exploited the individuals as well as society and local communities. In my view, I agree that they have had a disadvantageous impact on people. In contrast to individuals, they have earned many benefits through social media. For instance, people from around the world have achieved a connection with others through social networking sites, namely ' Facebook ' whereas it would not have been possible to construct relations with someone else before the advancement of technology and social networking. While people rarely met each other in the past, but presently, it is more evident that they meet up regularly online. Moreover, Facebook offers creating of groups through which people and individuals can initiate a discussion or share their views with different people who share common interests. In case of societies and local communities, Facebook has had a negative impact on their lives. They now prefer to take part in activities online rather than physical activities. In addition, people within local communities are no longer close to each other as they were then. A decline in formation a message received and understood information of supportive relationships has been observed. Furthermore, it is being noticed that people dedicate most of their time remaining online instead of working physically, for example, playing a sport rather video games in teenagers. Also, the society has become hugely dependent on online shopping for products they wish to purchase. It has resulted in significant loss of local vendors, supermarket clerks, etc. In conclusion, although social media has a number of advantages, it even has some disadvantages. Individuals and societies have not had the same effect on both of them. Moreover, more efforts should be put towards encouraging local people in physical activities in order to promote the maintenance of health and the future of community life.