In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that whether mental toughness or physical strength is the key factor to achieving excellence in sports. While I agree that athletes should build a strong body to enhance their endurance in every important tournament, I believe that a persistent mindset also plays an indispensable role in deciding who is the ultimate winner. On the one hand, it can’t be denied that sportsmen who possess torso strength gain the upper hand on the whole. Take a competition like wrestling, for example, only those who are in top physical conditions may withstand risky moves such as body slams, limb twisting and punches. Furthermore, frame prowess achieved through intense training activities also boost the amount of stamina needed to maintain stability in a long period of time. That is to say, in a long lasting game such as football match, it is required that players constantly run on the field to dodge their opponents and score goals for their team. Such physical demanding sport does not suit those who suffer from health issues or just simply don’t occur a good body fitness. On the other hand, many consider willpower as the defining factor in combating great pressure of sports competitions. Many an Olympic games witnessed its near winners collapsed miserably before reaching the peak of their glory, which can only be explained by the lack of psychological factors when it comes to dealing with intense situations of the game itself or the loud noises from fans and supporters of the opposite teams. In fact, even world class athletes experienced tough times throughout their career, only by staying well composed may these top performers handle difficult tasks and gain their victory. To sum up, although well-built figures could serve as an advantageous aspect for sportsmen in big games, we can’t overlook another influential factor which is of equivalent importance, that is mental prowess.