Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

In this decade, the consumption of tobacco has risen in popularity. People consider it to be the sign of richness, but it is no more than an evil sin. I, think abandoning it is necessary at places like work, hotels. This essay delve to explore both the aspects to finally form an opinion. On one side, people abide by the concept of tobacco ban as they are more concerned with the health of a person in the society. The reason for this is people are literate today, and they very well know the hazards posed, being a passive smoker. A person, who is smoking might suffer from diseases like: Lung cancer; accumulation of tar in the lungs, oral problems like; gingivitis and halitosis; in the severe cases a person can get oral cancer too, which could ultimately lead to death, but these ill effects are not limited only to a smoker, a person sitting close to him can also be affected. To exemplify, restaurants are often crowded, so if one person smokes, he makes others also, to inhale the same gases and finally getting sick. Therefore, it is imperative to ban tobacco in public places. On the other hand, people say tobacco should not be banned, as it is one of the sources of revenue of the nation. They say people are matured, they know their good and bad, the government need not to take such strict actions. Moreover, we live in a republic and an independent nation, where each individual has right to do what they love weather in public or private. After knowing the arguments and counter arguments, I am of the opinion that not only this poison like tobacco, also regarded as slow killer, should be banned, but people violating the law should also be punished. After all, smokers being culprit take thousands of lives with them. In conclusion, although tobacco could bring money to people, but it should not be forgotten that it has taken more lives. Therefore, considering the devastating effects of this weed on human health it is important to ban it.