In some countries, prisons are the most common solution to crimes. However, some others believe that education is a more effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that education is superior to prisons in combating crimes. From my perspective, while the use of prisons can be justified due to its role in barring criminals from society and deterring potential offenders, education is obviously a much better measure and therefore I completely agree with the statement. Incarceration has historically been acknowledged as a decent tool for exhibiting criminal justice and dissuading potential offenders. Drug trafficking, murder, money laundering, and other heinous crimes require regimented discipline, and prisons appear to be a good form of supervising criminals and isolating them from others. For those who have yet to commit crimes, many years of imprisonment and the dim prospects of having criminal records may serve as effective deterrents. However, education has been proven to have a more profound and long-lasting effect on tackling crimes. People who are properly educated have stronger mental health and heightened awareness of laws, which render them less criminally minded. In underdeveloped nations where a high proportion of citizens fail to undergo formal schooling, the crime rates are reported to be relatively high. In contrast, in countries where education is prioritized and well-funded, criminal activities have significantly plummeted to the point that several prisons are forced to be closed down. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that the act of incarcerating criminals might be efficient on a small scale, it is education that is of uttermost importance in ameliorating criminality. In the future, it is advisable that rather than wasting money on correctional facilities, more funding should be diverted towards education, especially early childhood education and development.