Many people today think that homework is still an important part of school while others think that it is becoming outdated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is commonly considered by many that the schools should offer a regular homework to the students, so that can prepare well ahead for the exams. Whereas others tend to oppose this idea and believe that homework impacts the mental and physical growth of the child. In my opinion, homework is beneficial for children, as long as it is below the limits. Those who opine that homework is advantageous for the children can easily point out its practical value. That is to say, kids can remember the concepts learned in the school only if they are performing some sort of practical exercises, once they returned home, otherwise they will forget everything. As a result, it will be difficult for them to outperform in their exams because there is a huge syllabus that need to be learnt one day before the exam, which sometimes can lead to the stress. For instance, according to the recent research of the New York Times, 90% of kids are suffering from the depression, due to inability to perform well in the exams. On Further Investigation, it was found that, such kids are stressed because they have never practised the things taught in the school before. On the other hand, there are several reasons which make people feel that homework is a burden for the students. Firstly, homework exercises can lead to busy and tiring schedule, which can restrict the development of the brain. In other words, the children, who spend around 8 hours in the school, are already tired and doing the homework after coming back, can reduce their capability to concentrate on education, followed by weakness of the brain cells. Secondly, for the physical growth of the child, playing is equally important as education. However, if children spend their whole time on studies, they will have no time for physical activities. Thus, teachers should provide homework, which is feasible and does not harm the students in any way. To conclude, although many people believe that the homework reduces student’s mental and physical growth and therefore it should be eliminated from the school curriculum. However, I believe it is beneficial if its within the limits.