Some people believe that artists should always be given the freedom to express their ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that artists should be free to express their ideas. Although I agree that freedom of expression is important for artists to create their works, I think that there should be some restrictions. With the freedom of expression, artists are more likely to use a different way to think about the world or social issues that are not politically correct. Because they do not have to worry that their thinkings are different from what the government want them to have, they can come up with more creative ideas and maybe they will find a better way to face and solve the currently unsolved social problems. Also, when artists can use any form of expression, they can let people know their thinkings and invite others to think in their way. However, sometimes artistic works can be offensive and hard to be accepted. To attract more people to see their works and notice the issues that the artists care about, some artists might use dramatic methods to express their thoughts and it could make people feel really uncomfortable sometimes. For example, they might use violent or sexual images to appeal to people’s attention. If this kind of works is placed in public places, many children or even sensitive adults might feel disturbed. So, there must be some restrictions on artists. In conclusion, while I agree that artists need freedom of expression to create impressive works, I strongly believe that there should be some restrictions to make sure the creation does not give the society bad influence.