Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure acitivity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sporting activities have gained increasing popularity in all nations across the globe. While it is believed that they should only be considered as a hobby, I advocate that contributions sports bring to the society are of great importance. Sports are supposed to be activities for free time since they are great relaxation tools. The reason is that if people are stressed out over deadlines or study, sports offer them more chances to gather their families or friends and share difficulties they have to face with a view to asking for some constructive advice, which helps them to distress. On the other hand, advantages sports contributed to our society need to be taken into consideration for some compelling reasons. The first explanation is that they may maintain public physical fitness. Recently, people have a tendency to favour the sedentary lifestyle which can be considered as a culprit behind dangerous diseases including obesity and cardiovascular disease. This phenomenon can be tackled only when people's awareness of sports improving citizens' health is heightened. Other than that, sports help to promote mental well-being and accelerate the development of technical competence. This is because those who are provided with more fitness opportunities have more chances to not only meet like-minded people but also work in teams when they join in team sports such as football, which means that they can expand their social circle and enhance interpersonal skills. Ultimately, the government may receive a great influx of money from awards of their countries' athletes. They can allocate these incentives to both solve urgent issues consisting of starvation, illiteracy and unemployment, which citizens, particularly those who live in disaster-prone areas or Third World countries, have to fight against and boost their nations' future progress and development. All in all, although it is thought that sports only play a role as a leisure activity, I suppose that their values in our society are far more significant.