Labour-saving devices such as dishwashers and communication tools such as computers are supposed to make our lives easier. However, some people argue that these devices only make them more difficult. Does modern technology reduce or increase stress?

Automation is the driving force of human lives. Labour-saving machines like dishwashers and telephones have our daily lives more easily. Some people argue that machines save us valuable time. For example, washing machines save time by washing the entire pile of clothes at once, thus saving hours of labour involved in washing clothes with hands. In fact, this enables the user to concentrate on other important tasks that need individualistic attention. It is often believed that advanced machines are expensive and increase financial difficulties. However, it is important to understand that once we have made the initial payment, we can use them for years. For example, although mobiles are expensive to buy, the convenience it lends in terms of communication with loved ones surely overshadows the pricing factor. Perhaps, with the evolution in technology, companies are coming up with cheaper substitutes, with a view to make technology accessible to everyone. Overall, labour-saving machines can improve our lives significantly. In my opinion, there are no qualms about the fact that machines save time and offer rich benefits in comparison to the price we pay for them and thus reduce the stress in our lives.