The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

A major concern which has been caused by the thriving manufacturing industry is environmental pollution. Considering the various toxic by-products, I believe the prime cause of this problem lies in the production system itself. Therefore, what the manufacturing process of businesses must undergo to solve this issue is governmental regulation. To find the root cause of the damage done to the natural environment of the manufacturing sector, it is worth looking at the chemical substances disposed of by the producing plants. One of the gases which are emitted due to fuel consumption is carbon dioxide. Being affordable and offering financial prospects, fossil and nonrenewable sources of fuel appeal to a vast number of companies. Another hazardous substance to take into account is the pesticide which is widespread among agricultural productions. Leaking from farmland into water sources or being sprayed aerially, insecticides, as well as herbicides, contaminate human food, threaten marine fauna, and pollute the ocean. On top of that, plastics have gained much public attention due to their ability to remain as waste for thousands of years after being discarded. Having these points in mind, the conclusion to solve the problem that I have arrived at is tougher rules and regulations enforced by the governments. If environmentally-friendly and renewable sources of energy have been invented, but are not taking advantage of by producing factories, governmental promotions such as tax breaks or financial incentives will go a long way towards a more sustainable economic development. One more law that can be applied is holding businesses who are doing harm to the ecosystem accountable. For instance, what the government can do is introduce stiff monetary penalties to them and require them to follow greener business practices, as in replacing plastic straws with biodegradable ones like those made of bamboo or metal. In conclusion, it is the byproduct of the manufacturing process that takes the blame for damaging the natural environment. In an attempt to address this issue, government and businesses going green will play the key role.