There is a suggestion that all young adults should be required to participate in unpaid work to assist people in the community. Do the drawbacks of this requirement outweigh the benefits to both the community and the individual young adults?

Due to the decrease in working hours per week among young people, the distribution of spare time to attend meaningful unpaid work in the community is an ideal suggestion for the new generation, but some critical problems are also worth discussing. In my opinion, there are more advantages to community and young adults with unpaid work than potential disadvantages. On the one hand, the working opportunities in the community will be more competitive after part of the work is finished by young people without payment, and this tired work leads to unnecessary pressure from economic and living. Most jobs in the community are popular in the labour market because of their low requirement and high salaries, like waste collection or welfare service, which means the loss of these positions or replacement by unpaid choice will intensify the competition between the public and rocket the unemployment population. In addition, the young are bearing higher financial pressure than the last generation, and the payment will be an important indicator of their schedule. On the other hand, young people can award more achievements and experience through assistance to special groups. At the same time, these free labour forces can shrink the community government’s budget for human resources. For example, new generations with higher educational levels can help the community to promote some new changes since their adaption and reflection are always faster than the elderly. Also, based on my experience as a volunteer for the distribution of free food, it is a useful and meaningful avenue to prevent the waste of unexpired products. Furthermore, the economic savings from these experiences could efficiently accelerate the basic development and establishing process in the community. In conclusion, although high living pressure and recruiting challenges may appear in the community, volunteering jobs can always benefit the averaging living standards and fundamental development as well as the captivating experience of young adults, popularizing this suggestion will be an exhilarating endeavour.