Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The exponential growth of supermarkets and big businesses harms small ones. Consequently, many believe that the growing number of market chains can be the demise of local communities. While, to some extent, it could be true. I think that the future of small businesses does not rely solemnly on that facture. It is understandable to believe that big businesses can be a threat to local ones because of the unequal resources. These businesses have at their disposal the best technologies and materials that can help provide the customer with good quality and fast service. Trader Joe’s, for example, is one of the biggest supermarkets in America and it is well-known for the quality of its services. Another reason why big businesses can pose a threat to small ones is that people do not have much time for shopping nowadays and they tend to prefer to shop from one place without the need to go to several shops. And, Generally, supermarkets do have everything people can need in their daily lives. That being said, the survival of small businesses depends on other factors. People in small communities prefer local stores because these are close to them. And they do not have to drive far to buy what they need. But, mostly, they like to shop at their local shops because of the sentimental and historic values of these shops. Whether they have known the shop keeper all their life or the shop itself has a historic value in the community, people will always have a soft spot in their hearts for these small shops and the will continue to shop there. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the fate of small businesses is not linked directly to the growth of big supermarkets only. And, local communities will not be threatened by this evolution.