with the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is an ongoing discussion about whether e-books will substitute the paper books. There are both merits and demerits from both sides. I am going to discuss the perspectives from both sides before coming to a conclusion that increase of e books is beneficial than physical books. On one hand, since ages, we have physical books. Physical books, play an important role in sharing knowledge to students and scholars. Reading physical books have many advantages. Take for instance, reading paper books make the eyes less stressful than e-books. Also across the world not all the books are translated into digital. As per the study of University Of Manchester, only 10% of all the books are converted as e-books. This clearly shows the need of physical books. On the other hand, e-books become popular day by day because of technological advancements. Sites like Scribd, amazon books become popular and reach out to the masses faster than the physical books. Even though, not all the books have their digital version, most of the books written in the recent decade have a digital version. Also, the main advantage of e-books is to save the environment as physical books use paper which is extracted from the tress and students also don't feel the burden of carrying books. For example, in japan a survey revealed that 70% of school children prefer e-books compared to paper books. Finally, by considering the above points, it's better to move to e-books as it saves the environment and remove the burden for children of carrying books. The government should take care of this and move all the existing books into digital books