Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the question of whether a student from 6 to 10 years should be studied a second language or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. While foreign languages play an integral part in a decent education system, studying other languages at primary school brings more advantages than drawbacks. On the one hand, there is a wide range of disadvantages to this assumption. The first drawback is that the period of 6 to 10 years, which is the time students continue to fulfil their mother language, so if they have to live in a bilingual environment, pupils are able to suffer from language disorders and cannot express their notion clearly. In fact, a huge of children over the world are dealing with problems in the permanent, and it has a harmful impact on children's cognitive development. Furthermore, primary school teachers, especially in rural areas, normally cover all subjects, so the expected learning outcome not guaranteed well. In addition, the requirement of qualification is not suitable. In Vietnam, for example, people only have B1 certificate that can apply to become a language teacher. This may lead to short of knowledge or experience to teach children and make serious consequences as mispronunciation and misunderstand nature, which is extremely hard to modify at a mature age. On the other hand, there are some reasons why the advantages will outweigh the disadvantages mentioned above. Firstly, at the early stages of life, children are likely to study other languages as their instinct. Pupils, therefore, can imitate the accent and rhythm without the berries or nervous. The sensitive ears help them pick up and duplicate tricky sounds that adults or adolescents often stumble over. Secondly, by learning foreign languages children can have countless opportunities to explore other cultures and enrich their knowledge or even that is a positive factor to help increase their intelligence quotient. To cite an example, according to studies published in Nature journal, pupils learning second languages early are able to tackle complex situations faster and better than peers who study languages latter. In conclusion, It is clear that the benefits of studying a foreign language at primary school more significant than the disadvantages.