Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have contrasting views on public health. While some would argue that it can be improved by increasing sports facilities since it will encourage public to develop their interest towards a healthy lifestyle, I firmly believe that it will not solve the purpose and some other solutions are required because everybody is unique and suffering with different illness. The overall health of citizens could be improved by maximising the provision of sports. That is to say that if the sports activity option proliferates, a number of people will engage themselves in some kind of physical exercise, which as a result makes people fit and active. In India, for example, the Delhi government has recently provided the gym equipment in most of the parks for free of cost, and this move has fascinated many men and women, who could not afford gym fees. However, I still feel this action would not improve people well-being, therefore, there should be something through which everyone can take benefit. Every individual has his own problem which cannot be solved just by introducing the sports options for them. In simple words, everybody’s body requirement is not same, and some people do not like to enrol themselves for fitness club or sports complex because of their age and disability. For instance, according to the extensive research conducted by WHO, revealed that 67% of people prefer to attend health seminars rather than physical exercise. Personally, I strongly believe that sports facilities would not persuade citizens, and free health consultation and medicines would be a better option to improve the citizens' health. In conclusion, some would argue that for the betterment of common peoples' fitness, sports facilities should be increased because this will motivate them to pursue a healthy life. I, however, believe that this will not solve the cause as those who are old and physically challenged cannot go for the sports activities, hence some free health care services should be provided by the government.