Scientists have been warning for many years about protecting the environment and that people must limit the use of energy in their daily lives. Despite warnings, many people do not do so. What are the reasons for this and how can people be encouraged to protect the environment?

Over the past few years, in spite of warnings from scientists about the need for protecting the environment and emphasising to people to control their energy use every day, the majority of people do not take into account. In this essay, I intend to explore this problem and suggest some possible solutions to it. Chief among the causes of this problem is that the members of the public are not aware of the importance of the surroundings. This is due to the government frequently focuses on national economic development rather than environmental protection. For example, a greenhouse gas which is produced by some firm's factories, contributing to air pollution, is rarely reported by the media. Another contributing factor is that residents are unlikely to do recycling on a fairly regular basis as the government does not strongly implement the series of measures on it. This, hence, may result in more damages in our surroundings. In order to resolve the environmental issue, I believe we must address its root causes. Perhaps the most effective methods of doing this would be for the government to introduce much stricter regulation of firms. For instance, curb the amount of using fossil fuels annually or encourage them to use sustainable green sources of energy. One further measure would be to educate people about conserving energy and the importance of recycling. If most people can follow the rules, it would also give our next generation a good place to live. In conclusion, it is unlikely to be resolved in the short term. However, it is my personal belief that the measures outlined above would constitute a good step.