More and more people today want to own famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Currently, the number of people who want to possess high brand-name products has been increasing because of several reasons such as the higher capacity of consumption and the influence of social media. I think this increase will encourage higher the utilization of the population, which is one of the key positive elements of country development. A key factor that increases brand-name products owning is the higher capacity of people in expenditure. It may say that popular brands of clothes, cars and other items are the rich’s products because of their expensive price. However, many countries in the world currently have rapid growth in the economy, comparing to the past ten years ago. This incident leads to a progressive number of rich people. Doubtlessly, this increase causes more and more those who have the capacity to spend on these kinds of products. An apparent example is China. Chinese people have become wealthier rather than in the past because of their country's growth. As a result, China became one of the biggest markets of a variety of brand-name merchandise and has huge spending on these kinds of products. Moreover, not only economic factors, but also the influence of social media on people’s lifestyles are an element persuading people to spend more on high brand-name merchandise. It is inevitable that nowadays social media such as Facebook, Instagram have a very strong influence on the lifestyle of modern people. People taking photos of foods to eat before they post them on social media or sharing styles of clothing on Facebook are very common. The lifestyle of people, especially celebrities, famous people can be wider access to others around the world and easily persuaded them to follow it through social media. The majority of these kinds of people always use famous brand products. Therefore, it can lead to an increase in the utilization of those products. For instance, Roger Federer, a famous tennis player, owned a Rolex watch and posted it on his social media. Over millions of people will see it and at least some of his followers will purchase it following him. To sum up, the number of popular brand-name product owner has risen nowadays, which is resulted from the wealthiest of people as well as the power of social networking. In my opinion, it is a positive path for growing utilization and leads to country development subsequently.