In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Healthcare is a highly-concerning issue in recent years. However, a substantial increasing trend in people‘s mean weight with a drop in their health and fitness levels are observed. Relatively high prices of healthy food and long working hours may be reasons for that. In this essay, I tend to discuss these factors and their solutions. Firstly, there is an inverse relation between price and the quality of food. For example, in most supermarkets, a pack of chips is often found to be much cheaper than broccoli. This difference in price may lower people‘s desires of purchasing healthier food, which results in many people buying junk food instead of vegetables and fruits. One possible solution for this can be imposing heavier taxes on junk food by the government, as taxes can reduce both the desires of purchasing by consumers and the quantity produced by the producers. Secondly, longer working hours make exercising difficult. For example, nowadays, 7:00 is the average homecoming time for most adults and is often not enough time to exercise after work. This results in a bad habit which may cause obesity and other chronic diseases in the long term.A solution for this can be organising exercise time for employees. This can cause them to have a habit of exercising every day, either to stay healthy or keep in shape. In a nutshell, imposing heavier taxes on junk food by the government can help solve the problems where junk food is often much cheaper than healthier food. Another reason can be working long hours, which causes employees to have less exercise time. Thereby, companies can organise an exercising time for them where they can exercise all together, allowing them to stay healthy.