Due to evelopment and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countires, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that supermarkets are responsible for the closure of several local businesses. Many people believe that with the local stores going out of business will lead to the disappearance of local communities and I tend to agree with them. In this essay, I am going to support my view with examples. Firstly, many local businesses are run by local people investing together. They work together and this strengthens the relationship between them. For example, my grandfather owns a small store along with his friends, which had helped them to constantly stay in touch with each other and thus playing a part in improving their relationship. In addition, a local community can sell their produce at the prices they feel would benefit them. This can help in increasing their profit, which can they can utilise to further develop their community. For instance, supermarkets in my country buy at a price they fix from the farmers, decreasing the profit share by a farmer. Furthermore, this money earned by the supermarket goes to the pocket of the owner rather than to the community. As a result, there is no source for the local groups to sustain their community. To conclude, the local community depends on local business to support themselves through the money earned and also the benefit of increased relations. However, a supermarket can affect the communities by decreasing their profits and in my view, this should be neglected.