People are encouraged to get rid of things in order to get the newest fashion and the latest technology. Do the disadvantages of a throwaway society outweigh the economic advantages?

It is an irrefutable fact that individuals have addicted to being trendy with the encouragement of mass media. This trend has numerous advantages and disadvantages to people's lives and society's situation, in this essay I discuss why economic advantages are more important with this lifestyle. Firstly, consumerism keeps the firms active and people alive. To clarify, when a society lives on trend and buys new items, factories produce more and more products and the process helps to decrease the unemployment issue throughout a country, hence this is helpful for the welfare of humans and enhances self-esteem among them. Besides, it also lifts the spirit of people as they will not use shabby clothes or devices. For example, when you wear in-fashion clothes, you do not compare yourself with others longingly, so you are more content with yourself and your satisfaction level increases. On balance, this change has a significant effect on the public interest. Secondly, more production develops innovation in the long run. In other words, this trend contributes to more production and results in more ideas for creating innovative devices or tools. For instance, many companies receive several requirements to make better items based on the latest technologies, if a company does not use state-of-the-art equipment, it would be idle soon. Hence, all factories must be updated to prevent going bankrupt. Overall, it is true that consumerism has many demerits and impacts on the lifestyle, but if we see this issue from another side, it would be clear that the economy grows significantly due to more construction. Therefore the merits outweigh the demerits.